top of page
Writer's pictureMej. Wysneus

The Brewery Restaurant (Hermanus) Review (8/10)

Updated: Aug 10, 2020

6 August 2020

Disclaimer: I am not a professional food critic, and this review is written for an everyday customer from the everyday customer.


It is level 3 lockdown, and the selling of alcohol is prohibited, but The Brewery is open?!

I was sceptical; what drinks were they serving now? I couldn't help myself, I just had to go see for myself.

Before lockdown, I was a regular customer of The Brewery, and I wanted to see how they were holding up all things considered.


As we approached the restaurant, an amiable waiter greeted us and showed us to a table. Once seated, she asked if we were happy with the seating and offered to bring us the drinks menu.


I was pleasantly surprised to see that they had redone their entire menu. All alcoholic beverages had been replaced with non-alcoholic drinks! They had an excellent selection of non-alcoholic gins, beers, and wines. Nicely done, The Brewery.


We ordered a Duchess Flower Pink Gin (non-alcoholic, obviously) and a Coke Zero. Usually, a non-alcoholic beverage just does not compare with the real deal, but this drink was as far as the look and taste go, well ... pretty good!


The menu has much fewer dishes, and focused more on burgers and pizza, with only a few other main courses. I think this is a prudent move for most restaurants in the current stricken circumstances.


We decided on the beef burger with regular fries (to share). After the friendly waiter took the order, she asked if she could bring the cutlery now or only as the meal is served (for hygiene and safety measures). Nice touch, I thought! She also made a point of mentioning that it is cleaned under stringent standards. We confirmed that we would like to have cutlery before the meal is served. Our order was placed, and while I waited, my friend used the restroom and reported that it was clean and neat and seems like all safety measures were followed.


The Brewery's elegant and aesthetic decor creates a delightful ambience, and at the time it wasn't overly noisy either. The tables were nicely spaced according to regulation, and the chairs (and tables) were comfortable, sturdy, and beautiful. I was very impressed and pleased to see how clean everything was.


Our food arrived, and it truly hit the spot! The portion size sufficed, we shared, and we were both satisfied (added that we are two petite ladies). I must add that I feel that The Brewery is a little pricey. (R120 for a beef burger.) But it was expertly plated with aioli and red coleslaw salad in small bowls. The fries are served in a separate bowl on the main plate, and it gives an overall good impression. The fries are hand-cut and fried and I oh so love the taste of hand-made potato chips!


You have a choice if your beef patty should be rare, medium or well-done and the burger served with avo pureé, melted cheese on a white bread bun. My friend would have liked it saucier, but I think it was perfect!


The bill can be settled in one of multiple payment options, like Cash, Card, Snapscan, and Zapper. I find that convenient and just another way that you can keep your hands clean.


Overall this was a tremendous dining-out experience, and I want to congratulate The Brewery on their creativity and excellent service!


Summary :


1) Service: 9/10

2) Pricing: 6/10

3) Ambience: 9/10

4) Decor and Aesthetics: 8.5/10

5) Comfort: 8/10

6) Noise Levels: 7/10

7) Food: 8.5/10

8) Drinks: 10/10

9) Cleanliness: 9.5/10

10) Portion Size: 8/10

11) Payment Options: 10/10


That would give The Brewery a solid 83.5%

My delicious meal



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page